Winners of the CHANEL Next Prize 2024 – Announcements

CHANEL has announced the ten winning artists of the 2024 edition of the CHANEL Next Prize.

Gabrielle Chanel famously said: “Je veux être de ce qui va arriver”: “I want to be part of what happens next.”

The CHANEL Next Prize has been awarded to ten contemporary artists who are defining what is new and next in contemporary art and culture. The ten awarded artists are celebrated as innovators, catalysts and pioneers who have the capacity to move fluidly between different art forms and disciplines. Together, they originate from countries including the UK, US, Brazil, Singapore, Iceland and Georgia. They work across mediums including visual art, moving image, dance and choreography, coding and game design, opera and performance, animation and digital art.

The winners of the prize are:

Tolia Astakhishvili (born in Tbilisi, Georgia, based in Berlin and Tbilisi), an interdisciplinary artist primarily working with installation. / Kantemir Balagov (born in Nalchik, in the Kabardino-Balkaria region of Russia, based in Los Angeles, US), a visual artist and filmmaker. / Oona Doherty (born in Belfast, Northern Ireland, based in Marseille, France), a choreographer working at the forefront of contemporary dance. / Sam Eng (born and based in New York), an independent game developer working at the intersection of visual art and game design. / Ho Tzu Nyen (born and based in Singapore), a multidisciplinary artist working across animation, video and installation. / Fox Maxy (born and based in San Diego, US), a visual artist and director. / Camae Ayewa, or Moor Mother (born and based in US), a musician, poet and visual artist. / Dalton Paula (born in Brasilia, based in Goiânia, Brazil), an artist and educator. / Anna Thorvaldsdottir (born in Iceland, based in Greater London), a contemporary classical music composer. / Davóne Tines (born in Virginia, based in Baltimore, US), a singer, creator and curator working in theatre and opera as a bass-baritone.

The second edition of the CHANEL Next Prize was judged by a panel of acclaimed cultural icons which included actor Tilda Swinton, artist Cao Fei and the leading curators Hans Ulrich Obrist and Legacy Russell.

Each artist will separately receive 100,000 EUR in funding, allowing them to realise their most ambitious artistic project with complete creative freedom. They will also gain access to a two-year mentorship and networking programme facilitated by cultural partners of the House throughout the world, including the Royal College of Art in London.

The Next Prize was established in 2021 as part of the CHANEL Culture Fund, CHANEL’s global initiative to accelerate the ideas that advance culture, extending a century-long legacy of cultural patronage by the House.

Yana Peel, the Global Head of Arts & Culture at CHANEL, said: “The CHANEL Next Prize was founded to amplify the work of artists who are making a difference and redefining their disciplines. The second edition of the prize will celebrate and support ten such artists. Each is a catalyst and a pioneer. Each is disrupting established practice across a multitude of cultural fields, from art and opera to cinema and game design. Watching their creative journeys will be thrilling.”

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *